Denise L. Smith Volunteer of the Year

Brad BorgstedeBrad Borgstede (’80)

Brad L. Borgstede received his Bachelor of Science in Accounting/Business Administration from Northeast Missouri State University in 1980. Recruited on campus by Price Waterhouse, Brad joined the firm’s St. Louis office upon graduation. A Certified Public Accountant, he served as a tax advisor to General Electric, Honeywell, Halliburton, Anheuser – Busch, Johnson & Johnson, Ralston Purina and many other Fortune 1000 Companies. While attending NMSU, Brad was a member of the Iota Gamma Chapter of Tau Kappa Epsilon. His Wife of 43 years, Theresa Voss Borgstede, also graduated from NMSU and is a Sister of the Alpha Beta Chapter of Alpha Sigma Alpha. Brad and Theresa have two daughters, Casey and Carrie and two sons, Blake and Austin. They also have four grandchildren. Brad and Theresa live in Colleyville, Texas.

Upon retirement from PricewaterhouseCoopers, Brad and Theresa organized the first Northeast Missouri State University Late 70s All-Greek reunion, held in Kirksville in the fall of 2018. Over 350 NMSU Greeks attended the reunion, which renewed old friendships and reconnected NMSU alumni with Truman State University. The second All-Greek reunion was celebrated in October 2022 and once again brought together approximately 350 NMSU Greeks one weekend in Kirksville.
The NMSU All-Greek reunion will return to Kirksville the weekend of October 11-13, 2024, and has been expanded to include all sorority and fraternity pledge classes through 1984. The All-Greek reunion planning committee’s attendance goal for next year’s reunion is over 400 Greeks.

About the Award:

The Truman State University Alumni Association created the Bulldog Forever Volunteer of the Year Award in 2012 to honor a volunteer leader for exemplary service to the University through the Alumni Association or any of its affiliated organizations. In 2019, the name of the award was changed to the Denise L. Smith Volunteer of the Year Award in honor of the late Denise Smith, who served as the director of alumni relations at Truman for many  years.

This award recognizes individuals who have sustained outstanding volunteer service to Truman State University through the Alumni Association and reflects length and depth of service on the part of the recipient.

Each year, one award is given to a member of the Truman Alumni Association who is a current member of a chapter and/or club. The Alumni Association encourages and appreciates the financial support of alumni gifts to the University. However, the Volunteer Award is intended for and elevates the service and time given to the University by our volunteers.

Nomination Criteria:

Nomination form

Previous Recipients

  • 2022: Brian Krippner (’89)
  • 2021: JoEllen (Flanagan) Engelbart (’11)
  • 2020: Hope (Slaby) Harms (’07)
  • 2019: John W. Davison  (’75, ’81, ’84)
  • 2018: Phillip Campbell (’06)
  • 2017: Gerald Hollingsworth (’67) & Karol Hollingsworth
  • 2016: Marsha Redmon (’79)
  • 2016: Chris Wiedmeyer (’96)
  • 2015: Naomal “Vid” Vidyasagara (’92)
  • 2014: Michael A. Wilson (’91)
  • 2013: Tania Cook (’85)
  • 2012: Will Sass (’72, ’77)