Past PHRE Conference – 2015

Truman State University’s
26th Annual Undergraduate Philosophy and Religion Conference

Saturday, November 14, 2015

Here’s the poster with info about the conference.  

leach talk phre conf.
William Leach presenting at the conference

Conference Schedule

Saturday, November 14, 2015
Student Union Building, Alumni Room

9:00-9:05 am Dr. David Murphy (Truman State University)
Introduction to the Conference

9:05-9:35 am Molly Turner (Truman State University)
“Time and Space: Made in China My Head”

9:40-10:10 am Jessica Avant (The University of Central Arkansas)
“How Arguments against Pornography Unduly Silence Alternative Portrayals of Sexuality Using The American Booksellers Association v. Hudnut”

10:10-10:30am — Break

10:30-11:00 am Katlin Walker (Truman State University)
“Aristotelian Women: Ancient Greek Femininity and The Politics”

11:00-11:30 am Brandon Warrington (Creighton University)
“Dignity, Disability and Capability: Disability and Freedom though the Sesha Example”

11:30-12:00 am Sofia Paz (Creighton University)
“A Pluralistic Account of Moral Responsibility”

12:00-2:00 pm Lunch (SUB Down Under, Room 1101)

12:30 pm Henry Smits Lecture (SUB Down Under, Room 1101)
Dr. Itir Günes (Truman State University)
“Autonomy, Agency, Freedom. Arendt on Action and Contemplation”

2:00-2:30 pm Connor Dahlin (University of Wisconsin-Stout)
“The Systematic Silencing of Star Gazers”

2:30-3:00 pm Madison Culver (Missouri Western State University)
“Women in the Theravada Buddhist Monasticism: Thailand’s Bhikkhuni Revival”

3:00-3:15 — Break

3:15- 3:45 pm Joelle Axton (Truman State University)
“Active Mind in De Anima III-5: A Critique of Alexander of Aphrodisias and Thomas Aquinas’s Interpretations”

3:45-4:15 pm William Leach (Truman State University)
“Millenia Apart”

4:15-4:45 pm Kara Filbeck (Central Christian College of the Bible)
“Karl Barth and the Issues of Nothingness as Something”

This event is co-sponsored by the Kirksville Chamber Tourism Division (visit!), the Truman State University Philosophy and Religion Department, the School of Social and Cultural Studies, and the Dr. Patricia Burton Honorary Endowment.