Political Communication Minor

The political communication minor prepares you to enter the world of political campaigns and political consulting. You will gain a background in the theories of communication and political science, the structures of government and campaigns, and skills in message construction and persuasion—all elements necessary for work in political campaigns.

An Engaged Community of Learners

Cultivate your skills of inquiry, analysis, and communication through lively class discussions, study groups, and campus events. Start expanding your professional network through internships. Truman has many resources to ensure your success including the Writing Center which helps students become better writers.

Small Classes

At Truman, small classes foster interpersonal relationships among a supportive community of learners where you collaborate with other bright, ambitious students. Your professors take a genuine interest in your success. And you can meet like-minded peers by getting involved with student organizations, including several political groups on campus.

Communication graduate awarded Quill for documentaryCommunication graduate awarded Quill for documentary

August 14, 2018

Sarah Hicks (Communication ‘18) was awarded a Kansas City Quill Award this summer from the International Association of Business Communicators – Kansas City Chapter for her Documentary “Redefining Art: Filling the Fine Arts Budget Cut Gap.” Produced for the final project as part of a video production class in the department of Communication, Hicks’ documentary […]

Truman Forensics produces tournament champ in Sacramento!

March 5, 2018

By Truman Forensics Students and Staff Truman State University’s Forensic Union (speech and debate team) traveled to Sacramento State University in California for the Hornet Cup in early March. With only a crew of four debaters, the team took second in debate sweepstakes and senior communication major Kelsey Barnes was named tournament champion in Lincoln-Douglas debate! […]

More News

Purple Friday Preview
September 28 • 11:00am - 5:00pm
Family Day 2018
September 29

More Events