General Communication Foundation Scholarships

Chandler Monroe Memorial Scholarship

  • This award was established in memory of Chandler Monroe by his family and friends. Professor Monroe was a member of the Truman faculty from 1960-1990. After his 30-year tenure at Truman, he retired as professor emeritus of speech. In 1990, Monroe was named Truman’s Educator of the Year.

Carrie T. Nauyalis Communications Scholarship & Endowment

  • This scholarship and endowment are separate awards and were established by Carrie T. Nauyalis (’94), of Austin, TX, to encourage deserving students to complete their undergraduate education in the area of Communications. This assistance is provided with the hope that recipients will go on to be successful members of society and will continue to strengthen their relationship with Truman through charitable donations of either time or resources.

Linnea L. Ratcliff Award

  • This scholarship was endowed in September of 1997 by Linnea L. Ratcliff, PhD, professor emeritus of Communication at Truman. Dr. Ratcliff was a member of the faculty from 1969 to 1997, during which she helped to educate and serve students in the field of communication.

Dr. Albert J. Weitz Scholarship

  • This scholarship fund was created in 2012 by Dr. Albert J. Weitz of Kirksville, MO to provide opportunity for deserving students to receive a Truman State University education. Dr. Weitz earned a BA in history and speech from Loras College in Dubuque, IA in 1973 before attending Purdue University in West Lafayette, IN where he achieved a MA in Public Communication in 1975. Dr. Weitz began his career at Truman in 1989 where he was a member of the Communication faculty. His research interests included communication and date rape prevention, incorporation of technology into the classroom, and innovating the workplace. He held a PhD in Speech Communication from Southern Illinois University-Carbondale. He was a member of Phi Kappa Phi, Readers Roundtable, National Communication Association, and New York State Communication Association. Dr. Weitz passed away on June 26, 2013.

J.C. & Donna Wright Memorial Fund

  • Originally endowed by Dr. James C. Wright and friends, this scholarship memorializes two people who devoted their lives to education. Dr. J.C. Wright served as a teacher, principal, and superintendent in Iowa. He came to Truman in 1965 and was a professor of Education through his retirement in 1972. Donna Wright was an instructor of English at Truman from 1965 to 1973.

< Back to Communication Scholarships and Work Opportunities