Faculty & Staff

Jim Bergman began his career in healthcare in 1982 at Grim-Smith Hospital. He worked from 1982-1984 and 1986-1990 as an orderly, unit secretary, physical therapy aide and patient transporter at Grim-Smith Hospital. In 1990 he graduated from Truman State University with a Bachelor's in business administration. Upon graduation Jim was promoted to benefits coordinator and given the opportunity to establish the Human Resources Department at Grim-Smith Hospital. In 1992 he was promoted to director of Human Resources and remained in that position until the hospitals in Kirksville merged in 1996, and Jim was retained as the director of Human Resources of Northeast Regional Medical Center. In 2007 he was named physician practice administrator and remained in that position until 2010. During most of that time, he assumed the responsibilities of director of Human Resources in addition to being physician practice administrator. In 2010 Jim relinquished his role as physician practice administrator and became the full-time director of Human Resources which is the role he has today. In addition to being the director of Human Resources, he has the responsibilities of Community Cares Champion which he has had from the program's inception in 2007 and has been the facility privacy officer since 2016. In addition to his professional life, Jim has been involved in numerous community and civic organizations. Following are a few: Rotary New Rotarian of the Year, 2014 -2015, Club President 2017-2018 Truman State University Alumni Association-Kirksville Chapter, Alumni of the Year 2004 Truman State University - Distinguished Service Award, 2012 Truman State University National Alumni, Board President 2003-2004 Truman State University Alumni Association-Kirksville Chapter, President 1999-2008 YMCA of Adair County, Board President 1997, 2004, 2017, Member 1995-2000, 2003-present Missouri Society Healthcare Human Resources Association, President 2000 Twin Pines Adult Care Center, Board Member 2016-Present Preferred Family Healthcare, Board Member 2019-present.